clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Washington Mystics release 2020 WNBA schedule

Raising the championship banner on May 16th!

2019 WNBA Finals - Game Five Photo by Ned Dishman/NBAE via Getty Images


The Washington Mystics have released their WNBA schedule for the 2020 season and this couldn’t be more exciting! Washington will open up their season on Saturday May 16 against the Los Angeles Sparks at the Entertainment and Sports Arena. Also, that will be the day the Mystics raise the 2019 championship banner!

The Mystics will be in FIVE nationally televised games this season on ESPN, ESPN2, and ABC. Their home opener facing the Sparks will be televised on ESPN.

Camp Day for Washington has been scheduled for July 8 at 11:30 a.m. That will be the earliest game for the Mystics during the season while remaining weekday games will be at 7 p.m. ET, besides the 8 p.m. game against the Seattle Storm. Weekend games will begin at 3 p.m. ET.

Head coach Mike Thibault was very excited about the schedule release.

“Seeing our schedule gets everyone excited to begin preparing to try to defend our championship in front of our great fans,” said General Manager and Head Coach Mike Thibault. “We will need the electric atmosphere that was created at ESA last season to propel us again this summer. We can’t wait to get started!”


In other news, the WNBA has extended the seasons to 36 games instead of the previous 34. So now they’ll be 18 games at home and 18 games on the road. What this means for the Mystics is they’ll play the Indiana Fever, Atlanta Dream, and New York Liberty four times and Western Conference opponents three times.

Looking at the schedule you’ll see a huge break from mid-July to mid-August, and that is the 2020 Summer Olympic Games in Tokyo break for the entire WNBA. After July 10, the Mystics won’t resume play until August 16.

Something new to add is the Commissioner's Cup which is a tournament that will be implemented during the season taking 10 of the regular season games per team to compete for a title. The counted games will be the first home game and first road game each team plays against its five conference rivals up until July 10. The best 10-game record team from each conference will then play in the Commissioner’s Cup Championship game right before the season continues in August.