clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 WNBA All-Star Game: Elena Delle Donne and Kristi Toliver named All-Stars

Delle Donne was also named a captain for this year’s game!

elena delle donne Stewart W. Small

On Tuesday, the WNBA announced the 22 players in the 2018 All-Star Game. Two Mystics, Elena Delle Donne and Kristi Toliver were named as All-Stars. It is Delle Donne’s fifth selection to the team and Toliver’s second.

In addition, Delle Donne was named a captain because she was one of the top two vote-getters. Maya Moore of the Minnesota Lynx was the other top-two vote getter but informed the WNBA that she could not perform the captaincy duties at this time, according to a WNBA release.

Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks was named the second team captain because she finished third in final voting returns.

Delle Donne and Parker will pick their teams of the remaining 20 players sometime between today and July 19 when they are announced before the Mystics play the Wings on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. EST. Delle Donne gets the first pick.

Team Delle Donne will be coached by Dan Hughes of the Seattle Storm, who lead the WNBA standings, while Team Parker will be coached by Sandy Brondello of the Phoenix Mercury.

The All-Star game is on Saturday, July 28 at 3:30 p.m. EST in Minneapolis, Minnesota.