clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA All-Star Game 2020 Open Thread

Team LeBron faces Team Giannis in the 69th annual midseason classic live from the Windy City. Who will be the first winner of the Kobe Bryant MVP Award?

NBA: All Star-Saturday Night Dennis Wierzbicki-USA TODAY Sports

Tonight is the 69th NBA All Star Game. Here is the game info.

When: Sunday, February 16th, 8 p.m. ET


Where: United Center, Chicago, IL

This game is a little different than previous years as it will have some added elements.

What is new this year?

  • The changes include a new fourth-quarter format that will honor the late Kobe Bryant. Team Giannis and Team LeBron will compete to win each of the first three quarters, all of which will start with the score of 0-0 and will be 12 minutes long. At the beginning of the fourth quarter, the game clock will be turned off and a Final Target Score will be set.
  • The Final Target Score will be determined by taking the leading team’s total cumulative score through three quarters and adding 24 points – the 24 representing Bryant’s jersey number for the final 10 seasons of his NBA career. The teams will then play an untimed fourth quarter and the first team to reach the Final Target Score will win the NBA All-Star Game.
  • The Kia NBA All-Star Game Kobe Bryant MVP Award will be presented on Sunday, Feb. 16 at the conclusion of the 2020 NBA All-Star Game in Chicago, where the league is celebrating the lives of Bryant, his daughter Gianna and seven other people who tragically passed away in a helicopter crash on Jan. 26.
  • The winner of the 2020 Kia NBA All-Star Game Kobe Bryant MVP Award will be determined by NBA fans (who account for 25% of the vote) and a media panel (75% of the vote).

Who’s on the rosters?

Team LeBron (Coach: Frank Vogel)

Starters: LeBron James, Anthony Davis, Kawhi Leonard, Luka Doncic, James Harden

Reserves: Ben Simmons, Nikola Jokic, Jayson Tatum, Chris Paul, Russell Westbrook, Domantas Sabonis, Devin Booker

Team Giannis (Coach: Nick Nurse)

Starters: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Joel Embiid, Pascal Siakam, Kemba Walker, Trae Young

Reserves: Khris Middleton, Bam Adebayo, Rudy Gobert, Kyle Lowry, Brandon Ingram, Donovan Mitchell

Did you catch all of that? With all that in mind let’s discuss...