clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wizards radio announcer Dave Johnson named D.C. Sportscaster of the Year

The Wizards’ radio play-by-play announcer has announced Wizards games for 23 seasons.

Wiz radio guys, play by play man Dave Johnson and color man Glenn Consor
Dave Johnson has been the Wizards’ radio announcer for 23 seasons.
Photo by Katherine Frey/The Washington Post via Getty Images

When you listen to Wizards games on the radio, you often hear “Bradley Beal! It’s there! It’s there!” when the All-Star guard makes a big shot. The man behind those calls just won an honor from the National Sports Media Association earlier this week. Johnson will be honored on June 29, 2020 in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Johnson has been the Wizards’ play-by-play radio announcer for 23 seasons (and counting). It’s a well-deserved honor since he leads the #RadioParty with enthusiasm along with color analyst Glenn Consor.

The Wizards job isn’t Johnson’s only one. He has also been D.C. United’s television play-by-play announcer since their inaugural season in 1996 where he got to announce every one of the Black and Red’s four MLS Cup championships. He even had the chance to say “It’s ... IN THE NET!” each time Wayne Rooney, Washington’s best soccer player since the late Johan Cruijff (back in the 1970s) in each of D.C. United’s last two seasons.

Play-by-play is just part of Johnson’s routine. He is also the Sports Director at WTOP-FM (103.5 FM in D.C.) where you can often hear him on the weekdays at :15 and :45 during the daytime hours. He is also a part-time sports anchor at WRC-TV (Channel 4), the local NBC station in D.C.

If you’re wondering how Johnson goes about his day, WTOP-FM has a video on how he balances the Wizards and being on the morning show.

You can listen to him and Consor on 1500 AM in the D.C. area or Sirius XM radio on a receiver or through its app. But since most of us have smartphones, you can also download the Wizards Mobile App on iTunes or Google Play which has the best audio quality of them all.

Congratulations Dave on the honor!