clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Wizards vs. Hawks Game 6: Paul Pierce's potential game-tying three was correctly overturned

New, comments

That settles it.

The ball is out of Pierce's hand in this picture, but his hand was still touching the ball when the clock first struck zero.
The ball is out of Pierce's hand in this picture, but his hand was still touching the ball when the clock first struck zero.
Stewart W. Small

Some of you were wondering what the NBA may have to do IF the league officials somehow incorrectly overturned Paul Pierce's potential game-tying three in Game 6 vs. the Atlanta Hawks last Friday. Fortunately, for the officials, that was a correct overturned three. From the NBA Officiating Last Two Minute Report from Game 6:

After communicating with the Replay Center, the ruling on the court that Pierce's (WAS) successful three-point field was released before time expired was overturned.

Considering the potential consequences for an incorrect call with the game and series on the line, this call had to be right from the beginning. And that is a good thing. Don't get me wrong, I don't feel any better about the series loss, but I'm glad to see the transparency the NBA is showing with these official two-minute reports.