clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Rondo not punished

New, comments

The NBA has decided not to take any additional action against Rajon Rondo for throwing Kirk Hinrich into the scorer's table in Game 6, and his subsequent elbow that just missed.

The league said yesterday that it would stand as a flagrant foul against Rondo.

Let's take a look at the play:



Ok - I'm not getting it. The NBA Rule book clearly states:

A player, coach or trainer must be ejected for:

  • A punching foul
  • A fighting foul
  • An elbow foul which makes contact above shoulder level
  • An attempted punch which does not make contact
  • Deliberately entering the stands other than as a continuance of play

Is the League saying it's OK to throw an elbow, just don't make contact?

Or, is the League saying that an elbow that does not connect, is not fighting?

Or, is the League saying that throwing an elbow at someone's head is not a punch?

Or, is the League saying it's only OK for a Boston player to throw an elbow?

Or, is the League saying it's only only OK for a Boston player to throw an elbow at a Chicago player?

Clearly there was intent to injure. So, Rondo attempted to injure another player by doing his best Rowdy Roddy Piper routine and threw Heinrich into a table. THEN, since apparently Kirk Hinr...., uh... I mean Hulk Hogan was not seriously injured, Piper attempted a haymaker right elbow to Hogan's temple that missed....

I tell you what, if Darius Songaila was suspended for a game for a tap on LeBron's cheek (caused by LeBron's own arm), then Rondo deserves a suspension.