The Seven Stages of Grief and the 2009-2010 Washington Wizards

Editor's Note: Bumped. -MP

I'm not referring to Abe. We all felt that loss and expressed our respect and honor.

The grief I'm now talking about is over the rest of the team.

Here is what you can expect to go through:

1 - Shock or Disbelief

2 - Denial

3 - Bargaining

4 - Guilt

5 - Anger

6 - Depression

7 - Acceptance and Hope

There are some of you out there who are still in stage 1, "Shock or Disbelief", but very few. If that is you then you should get moving. You have a long way to go.

Some of you are in stage 2, "Denial". Don't tell me you are not because that just proves the point.

If you are in stage 3 ("Bargaining") or stage 4 ("Guilt") then you should really move on down the list. It isn't your fault and there is nothing you can do about it. Unless your name is Ernie, Flip, Gilbert, Caron etc. Then stage 3 or 4 is really the right place for you.

Most of you are clearly in stage 5, "Anger". If your posts include any all-caps then this is you. If your pie chart of blame added up to more than 100% this is you too. Hopefully you'll come out of it soon. Sounds like a bad place to be. I think a lot of the "blow it up" crowd is stuck here, since there seems more of a tendency to want to destroy than actually build something. I don't blame them, but really I don't think it's healthy in the long run.

CJHutch has moved on to stage 6, "Depression". Also a bad place, but it seems to be working for him. I'm jealous.

Stage 7 is "Acceptance and Hope". Is anyone on this site there yet? No. But it is my New Year's wish that by the trade deadline some of the advanced members of this BF community will have reason to start getting to this point.

Feel free to tell us all what stage you are experiencing. It's therapeutic.

This represents the view of the user who wrote the FanPost, and not the entire Bullets Forever community. We're a place of many opinions, not just one.